The Cercle de Réflexion des Nations : an evolving decade, 1994 - 2004

The Cercle de Réflexion has deeply evolved since its inauguration to adopt the status of an intergovernmental organization (IO).

The main evolution points are the following :

The initial activity :

At the beginning, the Cercle de Réflexion was inaugurated at the United Nations Headquarters in New York on 25 th July 1994 to facilitate the mutual recognition of diploma among nations and the free circulation of intellectuals throughout the world.

Since this issue is fundamentally linked to peace, different kinds of projects arose progressively from the same philosophy, gathering people from different background and countries, willing to work together for peace.

1995 : introduction of the hospital ship concept at the United Nations

1998 : presentation of the peace pyramid project

2000 : inauguration of the training center of the "Leaders without Borders"

2002 : starting of the doctoral training on the Internet (« Dag Hammarskjöld » class)

2004 :

  • first residential seminar for the doctorates for leaders in peace administration in Paris
  • establishment of the Academy of Peace
  • selection for the second class of the doctorate in peace administration at the United Nations

2005: Presentation of PhD in International governance and sustainable development to the United Nations

2006: Declaration of Human Duties

2009: Commission of Human Duties to the United Nations

2010-2011: Presentation of Hopsital Ships for Haiti to the United Nations

2012: Inauguration of the International Cité Bretagne in China (6 April) and in Brittany (France- 17 July)

Evolution of the organization status

During its inauguration in 1994 at the United Nations, the Cercle de Réflexion was a non governemental organization, adopting a first Charter based on equivalence of diploma matter.

64 countries attended general assemblies (see 1st GA; 2nd GA) and   different commissions of the Cercle de Réflexion :  Algeria, Australia, The Republic of Benin, The People’s Republic of Bangladesh,The Republic of Bulgaria, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso , The Republic of Burundi, The Kingdom of Cambodia, The Republic of  Cape Verde, The People’s Republic of China, The Republic of Cyprus, Union of Comoros, The Republic of Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, The Republic of Croatia, Dominican Republic, El Savador, Eritrea, The Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, The Republic of Fiji, France, Georgia, Ghana, Greece, Grenade, The Republic of Guine, The Republic of Guyana, Haiti, The Republic of Indonesia, The Islamic Republic of Iran, Israel, Japan, The Kyrgyz Republic, The Kingdom of Lesotho, The Republic of Madagascar, The Republic of  Mali, The Republic of Marshall Island, The Kingdom of Morocco, The Republic of Mauritius, The Islamic republic of Mauritania, Mexico, The Principality of Monaco, Mongolia, The Republic of Mozambiqu, Union of Myanmar, The Kingdom of the Netherland, Le Nige, Pakistan, The Republic of Philippine, The Republic of Poland, Portugal, The Russian Federation, The Republic Rwanda, The Republic of South Africa, Spain, Serbia, The Republic of Trinidad et Tobago, Tunisia, The Republic of Uganda, Ukraine, United States of America, The Socialist Republic of  Viet Nam.

12 countries have been admitted to active member status: Niger, The United States of America,  Burkina Faso, The Republic of Bénin, Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia,  Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, The Kingdom of Morocco, The Republic of Burundi,  The Republic of Madagascar, The Republic of Congo, France,  Haiti 

Since 1999, eleven governements have officially nominated representatives to the Selection Committee for the "Leaders without Borders" and the Health and Security Committee of the hospital ship "l'Humanité 1", one of them as a permanent representative to the Cercle de Réflexion des Nations. Then the CRN became an organization with governemental participation.

In 2003, the Cercle de Réflexion proposes a new Charter to the Nations, transforming its current status into an Intergovernemental Organization and will request the status of Observer member to the United Nations. Finally, the current charter has been adopted to the United Nations on 25 June 2008.

Evolution of Logo and Name

After several provisional logos, the current logo represents the human being, standing with his opened arms, embracing and protecting the earth and the universe. This image focus on Man as the principle and the finality of the CRN's actions.

Since its inauguration at the United Nations, the organization was called "United Nations Cercle de Réflexion", referring to an opened platform to all nations willing to work on concrete projects for peace. In 2004, the organization has definitively adopted the name of "Cercle de Réflexion des Nations".